10 Confessions of a Pastor’s Wife

10 Confessions of a Pastor’s Wife:   

  • I am sometimes tempted with works.  I know that I cannot earn my way to heaven.  I have to make sure, however, that as I serve and live for Christ, I know that I am not doing it to earn His love.  It is unconditional!
  • I used to love my husband too much.  This sounds crazy, but it’s true.  There was a time very early in our marriage where my husband became an idol.  I had placed him before the Lord.  I had to get my heart and priorities in the right place.  Christ must always be first!
  • I am a people pleaser.  I love to make people happy!  This can be wonderful, but I have to keep it in check.  I can’t serve people to make myself feel good.  Over 11 years of full-time ministry, I have also had to admit that there will be times when I cannot make everyone happy.  Ultimately, being obedient to God is only about making HIM happy!
  • I get tired.  This may seem obvious, but I think there are times when Christians can appear invincible.  There are times in ministry where I am worn out, and that is ok.  Being exhausted from serving is the biggest blessing!  Christ gives us endurance and strength.  It’s important too, though, to take times of rest and renewal.  Too many ministers burn out because they do not allow for a true time of refreshing.
  • I struggle with guilt.  I am constantly evaluating my effectiveness as a wife, mother and minister’s wife.  I see my own shortcomings, and they can lead me down a dangerous path.  I have to make sure that my inadequacies are placed in the fullness of Christ.  I confess any sins, and I have to accept God’s forgiveness.  There is no place for patterns of guilt in the freedom of the Lord!
  • There are times I neglect my temple.   It’s hard as a busy wife and mom who owns her own business and serves in the church to remember to take care of myself.  I don’t always eat or sleep as I should.  I fall in and out of exercise routines.  This is an area I am working on.  God wants us to be good stewards of His creation as we serve Him.  Neglecting our wellness is just as sinful as anything else.
  • I’m a real person.  My feelings get hurt.  People’s words go to my heart.  I’m protective of my husband and children.  I cry over the church and the lost.  I have a dirty house some days.  I get impatient and frustrated.  I am not perfect.  I am, however, striving to live unto the Lord in His righteousness.  He is the only thing good in me.
  • Ministry gets lonely.  Being the pastor’s family means that you sometimes live life with few friends.  Sometimes, far away from family.  You work long hours.  This has caused our little family to become closer than ever.  We have had to place all our faith and trust in the One who deserves it.  We have seen a bond between us flourish even deeper.  Leadership is a gift.
  •  Ministry is hard.  That’s just a fact.  It would be deceiving to say it wasn’t, but anything worth doing is typically difficult.  The cross was bloody and messy.  It involved sacrifice and ridicule.  It also, however, changed the world.  As we serve, we are placing our lives in the hands of the One who has the power to use even our weaknesses for His glory.  God makes us into His image through challenges.  The hard times are what defines us.
  • I never regret being a family in ministry.  When my husband, Jason, and I were dating, he was saved and called to preach.  I never once had any second thoughts.  I am called to be a pastor’s wife.  Our family is called to serve.  It is a high calling, and my prayer is that we do it well as unto the Lord.

Be Blessed!

“He who calls you is faithful; he will surely do it.”  1 Thessalonians 5:24

This entry was posted in Ministry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 10 Confessions of a Pastor’s Wife

  1. Joy says:

    Hey, this PW knows right where you are coming from! It seems ridiculous to have to “confess” to being a real person, doesn’t it? I just made my first list about being a pastor’s wife, and it is terrifying! http://www.divergentobservant.wordpress.com

  2. Kimberly Harris says:

    Grateful for the example you and Jason set. Your family is and has always been dear to my heart.

  3. solfan says:

    Great post. Keep pulling on the armor of God every day and being a warrior for the kingdom.

  4. Becky says:

    Very important words for any Christian woman, seeking to live as God would have her live. Thank you.

  5. mdsharp1 says:

    Thank you! Love you too!! 🙂

  6. Hillary says:

    Insightful and touching!!
    I love you! Take care of yourself, Miranda Dawn!!!!

Leave a Reply

