Balancing Act

too_much_to_do

Have you ever seen a pie plate spinner?  (Pic above.)  They have the amazing ability to keep multiple plates spinning at a time atop tall, thin poles.  It’s quite a feat.  Have you ever felt like a pie plate spinner?  I have.  I am a stay-at-home mom to an almost two year old.  Throughout the day we are playing, reading together, learning numbers, letters, shapes and colors.  We also enjoy watching “Jake and the Neverland Pirates” and “Mickey Mouse Clubhouse”.  I am a small business owner trying to really get my business off the ground.  I have an online children’s boutique.  I am constantly researching, marketing, creating orders and answering the needs of my customers.  I love what I do.  I am the wife of a Pastor.  We love serving the Lord and people.  That’s where our heart is.  We are in the process of adopting internationally.  This entails lots of paper work, self-education and fundraising.  I am many other things as well including a wife, daughter, sister, daughter-in-law, sister-in-law, aunt, friend…  It can seem as though I am standing in the center of numerous plates that may all fall at any moment.  I can run frantically from one to the next spinning with all my might, or I can choose to do something revolutionary.  I can choose to focus the most of my attention, my heart, on one plate.  Sounds impossible, doesn’t it?

It can certainly seem that way.  There is a call on our lives to be utterly in love with and completely devoted to Christ; to give HIM our all.  No plate spinner great commissions exist in the Word.  He has asked us to love Him and love others.  I know our daily lives are filled with tasks innumerable.  I understand that you are worn and weary.  But may I suggest that we are all frazzled and tired because we are spinning all these plates with no regard to the Lord?

Matthew 6:33 says, “‘But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be provided for you.’”  We have to have our foundation, our hope and sanity, in Jesus.  We don’t neglect responsibilities.  God calls us to provide and care for our families in different ways.  Yet, we have the tendency to do everything in our own strength according to our own will and our own time.  This leaves us drained by a world that wants to do all it can to pull our eyes from the cross.

Colossians 3:17 tells us, “And whatever you do in word or in deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.”  Everything we are and all that we do must flow from a heart that longs for the Lord.  We must be selfless.  We can’t do that on our own (John 5:30a), but we must fully rely and REST in Jesus.  We have to let Him lead and prioritize our lives.  We’re all in different places with different callings, but we also all have the same commandment.  The message never changes, but the methods do.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-9 confirms that there are seasons to our lives.  There are times for everything.  Maybe you are a mother at home with small children.  They are your focus, but that doesn’t take away from God’s call to share the Gospel with the mommies He’s placed around you.  Maybe you are a single, busy college or grad student.  Your degree is your focus, but that doesn’t negate the calling to study God’s Word first of all.  Maybe you are a successful working woman.  Your career is your focus, but that doesn’t mean you don’t need God’s direction and blessing.  You may be all of these things.  Each of us needs the purpose of sharing the Gospel and discipling believers to be ever present in our thoughts as we go about our day.  We need one plate to take care of all the other plates.

So here’s a call to be grounded; to find a quiet place and balance in Christ.  To find contentment (Philippians 4:11), wisdom (Ephesians 5:15), peace (1 Peter 5:7) and rest (Mark 6:31) in the creator of it all.  All we need and who we are must be found in Him.  May He grant the desires of your heart, and may your desire always be for Him (Psalm 37:4).  Be blessed!

This entry was posted in Christian Living and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Balancing Act

  1. becky says:

    Nice read, I had been thinking about something like this for awhile. It really is easy to get a lot of plates going, or in my case a pie. You see my pie was nice and whole with lots for me to eat and share, then quickly became cut up so small there was none left to eat, just crumbs. So again thank you for your words and scripture. It is something I can refer back to. Keep writing “Super God Woman”

    • mdsharp1 says:

      Thank you for your encouragement, Becky! Glad this blessed you. That is a blessing to me. I know Jesus is the only thing good in me, and I am grateful and humbled to be used by Him.

  2. paula says:

    Great words miranda!!! i enjoy reading what u write about> keep up the great work!!!

  3. Shelly Johns says:

    Excellent words of encouragement. Thanks Miranda!

Leave a Reply

