While I’m Waiting

I’ve always heard, “Don’t pray for patience. God will give it to you.”  I am the most impatient person I know.  Ok.  I am definitely in the top 5.  I do not like to wait.  The instant gratification culture I have grown up in has taken root within me.  God is, however, continuing to mold me into His likeness.  He is doing it through waiting.

Right now, the word “adoption” is consuming most of my thoughts and life.  Not taking the place of Christ, but burning inside me because of Him.  We are in the process of adopting a boy from the DR Congo.  I do not know what he looks like, if he is born or when he will come home.  It’s worse than pregnancy.  I do not have a “due date.”  I do not get an ultrasound.  I can’t feel him physically.

What I do have is a deep sense of the Holy Spirit within me crying out for the forgotten, the abandoned, and the fatherless.  It is overwhelming.  I have to rely on the Father in a way I never have before; to depths I never have before.  There is so much unknown.  There are so many obstacles.  One looming always is the cost of adoption.  Ours will be around $40,000.  What is our mortal, finite family going to do to change the world?  Nothing.  We can truly do nothing, but be obedient to an impossible task that Christ has called us to.

It sounds hopeless, but for the ever-present peace that floods my soul.  Our God is the God of promises.  He keeps them.  He IS the God of turning the impossible into the possible.  He does not operate in our realm.  He is supernatural.  Praise His holy name!

Remember when Sarah laughed when the Lord told Abram she would conceive (Gen. 18:12)?  He said, “Is anything too hard for the Lord?” (Gen. 18:14)  Remember when the spies went into Canaan and 10 came back with a negative report (Numbers 13:31)?  Then God hears Israel’s cry and the Canaanites are defeated (Numbers 21:3)!  You know the story of Mary, the mother of Jesus.  She is made pregnant through the Holy Spirit (Matthew 1:18).  The Lord says of this, “For nothing shall be impossible with God.”  (Luke 1:37)  Christ raised Lazarus from the dead (John 11:44) and said to Martha, “I am the resurrection and the life.” (John 11:25)  And I could go on and on.  John says, “Now there are also many other things that Jesus did.  Were every one of them to be written, I suppose that the world itself could not contain the books that would be written.” (21:25)

Our God is the God of Abram, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.  There is great power in the name of Christ.  We MUST remember that our Lord is risen!  He is alive and active.  When we follow Him, we are in the presence of the creator and sustainer.  We can trust Him with our lives.

There is a beautiful song by John Waller called “While I’m Waiting.”  The chorus says, “I will serve you while I’m waiting.  I will worship while I’m waiting.”  I do not know what God is asking of you or your family.  I don’t know where your walk with Christ will lead.  But I do know that if He is calling you to wait, it is a beautiful thing.  It is an opportunity for you to be held in His arms.  It is a chance to cling to His promises.  It is the perfect moment to worship and serve.  Let the world see you go after Christ with all your heart.  Be blessed!

This entry was posted in Trials. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to While I’m Waiting

  1. Roger Pierce says:

    I totally understand your impatience!!! Our five plus year journey to Molly Kate taught me A LOT about patience, though. When you experience the end result of your wait—the PERFECT son chosen for you by God and in HIS PERFECT TIMING, it will give “patience” a whole new meaning. If we had gotten our daughter when WE wanted her, we wouldn’t have the Molly Kate we have now, who is SO perfect for our family. Once you have your precious child in your arms, you will look back and understand it all!!!! God is SOOOOO good!!! Vicki 🙂

Leave a Reply

