Where Is God In the Silence?

I am a terrible waiter.  I don’t mean a poor food service person.  I am impatient.  God has grown me, but it is still one of my greatest downfalls.   I am continuing to learn what it means to trust God in the in-between times of my life.  I talk to people and see others who are struggling to find where God is during these quite seasons.  When their night in shining armor hasn’t come, they can’t get pregnant, their spouse is far away, they desperately need employment, or they’re seeking God with all their heart, but every door keeps closing.  Have you ever prayed and felt that God was not listening?  Have you poured out your broken heart only to be answered with silence?  These can be difficult times in our walk.  They can make us bitter, or create a sweet fellowship with Christ.

I want to assure you of two things.  God has not abandoned you in your time of need (Deut. 31:6; Heb 13:5).  He promises to walk with us.  Secondly, just because you don’t know what He is doing, doesn’t mean that He isn’t working in the silence.  He is quite busy bringing about His will in His timing.  He is on the move!  It is His timing that is difficult to wait for.  I want things now; yesterday, even.  His timing is perfect, however.  He knows far more than I.  Think of how the Old Testament prophets may have felt.  They were preaching a message of repentance; that a Messiah would come.  They didn’t get to see it.  Yet, all along God was creating the line that Christ would be born from.  He was orchestrating it perfectly.  And at the appointed time, Christ was born and died.  It was all in God’s perfect plan and timing.  Habakkuk 2:3 says, “For the vision is yet for the appointed time; it testifies about the end and will not lie.  Though it delays, wait for it, since it will certainly come and not be late.”  The lyrics to an old song say, “He may not come when we want Him, but He’s right on time.”  (“He’s Right On Time” by Mahalia Jackson)  God truly is busy in our waiting, and we are blessed to remain.

The question, then, really isn’t where God is in the silence, but where we are; where our heart is.  Psalm 62:5 says, “Rest in God alone, my soul, for my hope comes from Him.”  The Hebrew word for “rest” here implies both silence and waiting.  In Psalm 22:2, David writes, “My God, I cry by day, but You do not answer, by night, yet I have no rest.”  He is seeking and praying diligently, but his active prayer is only making him restless.  The contrast in chapter 62 is that David has now found a sense of security in waiting for God’s answer.  He knows that both an answer and protection will come.  Hope springs forth from knowing a God who is trustworthy.

As we wait for God to reveal His plan to us, to see what He’s been up to, we have to be faithful in the silence.  There’s another great song by John Waller that says, “I will serve you while I’m waiting.  I will worship while I’m waiting.”  (“While I’m Waiting”)  We are called to be obedient.  He will make the paths straight (Proverbs 3:6).  May God bless you as you wait in the silence.  He is with you, and He is busy.

This entry was posted in Trials and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where Is God In the Silence?

  1. Kimberly Harris says:

    I have no idea why this old gospel song just keeps replaying in my mind,” No one else can walk it for you, you got to walk it by yourself.” Not even sure of the name of the song.

  2. Shonda says:

    I am not a good “wait” person either. I never have been, that is just my nature. I work on being better every day. I have been taught to trust in God since I was a little girl and I do. I ask Him to help me and guide me in everything. He has blessed me with so much in my life, but there is something I would like to share with you that I know He did for me in His time not mine. When our kids were little we didn’t always have a lot of money to do fun stuff all the time so we would take long Sunday drives out in the country for entertainment. We would drive up Fm 203 and turn onto Cr 2009 all the time because it is such a pretty drive. When we would pass a particular spot on Cr 2009 I would tell Delmon to slow down so I could just look at it. I would tell him that someday we are going to live here. He would smile and say ok. Week after week when we would drive around and when we would pass that spot, I would tell him the same thing. Someday we will live here and we will have that view in our back yard. Again he would smile and say ok. Fast forward 25 years. We had decided to remodel our house. We had saved up some money, made list of things that needed to be done. We were all ready to begin our project. One day I was standing in front of my bathroom mirror fixing my hair, not thinking of anything particular when I heard this inner voice. It said, why I you going to put all of that work and money into your house when that is not what you really want. I almost dropped my brush! I called Delmon and told him about my experience. He said if you want to we could try to find some land and build us a house instead, but it will probably be hard to sell our house. I decided to go over to my mother’s house and tell her all about what has just happened. My brother happened to be there. He is the mail carrier for this area. I told them Delmon said we could try to find some land to build a house on. My brother said he saw a sign just go up for some land on his route. He said we could drive out to look at it if I wanted to. We got in the car and started to drive out in the country. The closer we got the more my heart started pounding. When we stopped the car we were right in front of that beautiful piece of land that we had been driving by for 25 years! I called Delmon to tell him about it. He said to call the real estate agent and make an appointment. We were signing papers on it within two weeks. Delmon was worried about how we were going to sell our house when we needed to. I told him that God has a plan. When we need to sell the house, He would send someone to buy it. We just had to trust Him. We continued to work on the land until it was ready to build on it.It was hard work but enjoyable. It took us two years to get the land ready. Delmon finally said we needed to put our house up for sell because it might take a while.I called the real estate agent and listed our house. Two weeks later the agent called me and said someone wanted to look at the house. They loved it, signed the papers on it and wanted to move in within two weeks. Delmon was shocked! I said, I told you God would send someone when it was time. We love our new home and I know this is where God wants us to be, at least for now. It took 25 years for my dream to come true, but I also know it was in God’s time not mine. Sometimes God’s plan is not always our plan and sometimes it may take 25 years or longer, but I know He is alway there laying down the path for our future. I thank God for my many blessings everyday!

Leave a Reply

