No One Wants to Work In the Field

If over a year’s worth of blogs hasn’t told you, I will: I love music! I relate to it. It is often full of Scripture, which I find myself singing as I go about my day. God speaks to me through it. Over the past couple of weeks, God has laid an old seventies song on my heart. I am actually going to sing it for special music on Sunday. It seems to fit the time and the temperature of the church right now. By church, I do not just mean the one we pastor. There is an overwhelming sense of apathy across the board. It isn’t a new problem, but it concerns me deeply.

In addition, the Lord has impressed on me a very well known verse. It is found in two of the Gospels. Luke 10:2 says, “He told them: ‘The harvest is abundant, but the workers are few. Therefore, pray to the Lord of the harvest to send out workers into His harvest.'” Here, Christ is sending out the seventy. He is commissioning them to go out and share the Gospel. Verse one tells us that He sent them out in pairs to the towns He would be going to. They were preparing the way. Christ goes on to instruct these disciples about what they should do. They were to stay with whoever would receive them, and eat what they ate. If they were not welcome in a town, they were to shake the dust off their feet as a sign against them (10:10-12). In essence, they were modern day prophets; telling the world that the “Kingdom of God had come near” (verse 9, 11). I find it so intriguing that Christ is sending out what I consider a good number of people to proclaim the Good News, but at the same time He states that the workers are few. Have you ever thought about that? The task must be large then, right? Indeed, it is. We are to tell the whole world that Jesus Christ took the punishment for their sins through His death on the cross, He rose from the grave, and they are now able to be forgiven by placing their faith and trust in what He did. As a result, those who are saved live their lives for Him. It takes all of us to see the task completed.

Why, then, is it not already done? The workers are few. Christ tells His followers to pray for more laborers. The solution is given to us in God’s Word. We are to be going, and we are to be praying. However, as I look around, there are few praying, and fewer still who are going. I like that Jesus didn’t just tell these seventy to go to the synagogue and pray. I think it is very important to note that these men where already commited to sharing the Gospel. They were in route. His call to pray for more workers is addressed to those already a part of gathering the harvest. It seems that too often, people want to sit inside the church on Sunday and pray for God to do something. In fact, He already has. Scripture says He is the “Lord of the harvest.” He has made the way for salvation, sent out laborers, and told them how to bring in the crop. The fault is not with the Lord, but with us. There is not enough going or praying. We cannot use prayer as an excuse to not go.

Finally, notice that Jesus uses the word harvest. We often think of sharing the Gospel as planting seeds, and Christ does use this imagery in other places. However, here the implication is that the crop is ready to bring in. There are lost people already primed to hear God’s Word and receive it! Yet, we are not willing to tell them! Have you ever seen a ripe field that wasn’t brought in? What happens to it? It loses not only it’s beauty, but, more importantly, it loses it’s usefulnesses. It is wasted and slowly dies. Are we losing part of the harvest because we are not going out? YES! The world, the community around us is slowly dieing. Do you care? How much? Enough to inconvenience your own life?

As harsh as it may sound, I do not see many who care; outside the church or inside it. We have to break the chains of apathy, and start being obediant to Christ’s commands. If we are not, we are simply standing at the highway to Hell and waving at those who pass by. I do not want the crop to be wasted. I want to be a laborer! I know this is not an easy post, but the church needs the conviction of the Holy Spirit. It needs workers. I pray that God wakes us up to the urgency of the mission He has given us. I pray we go boldly to reap what He has grown. I pray for change. In closing, here are the words to that old song that has been haunting my soul. God bless!

“My House Is Full”–Lanny Wolfe

There is peace and contentment in my Father’s house today,
Lots of food on His table and no one turned away.
There is singing and laughter as the hours pass by,
But a hush calms the singing as the Father sadly cries,

My house is full, but my field is empty,
Who will go and work for Me today.
It seems my children want to stay around my table,
But no one wants to work my fields,
No one wants to work my fields.

Push away from the table.
Look out through the windowpane,
Just beyond the house of plenty
Lies a field of golden grain.
And it’s ripe unto harvest,
But the reapers, where are they?
In the house,
Oh, can’t the children hear
the Father sadly say,

My house is full, but my field is empty,
Who will go and work for Me today.
It seems my children want to stay around my table,
But no one wants to work my fields,
No one wants to work my fields.

This entry was posted in Christian Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No One Wants to Work In the Field

  1. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for putting in this post that you are not just talking about our church…lol…although it certainly applies. I think the most frustrating part for me is that I see people perfectly capable of serving, but they will not. I pray not to judge them because that is God’s job. What I do pray is that God convicts their hearts to step up and minister to other Christians and the unsaved. I have to pray for my attitude as well. I don’t want to go down the road of resentment because I think someone should be helping. I must focus on how God wants me to serve and minister to others, first and formost! (Sadly, the pew-warmer misses out on so many blessings, right?)

    One important lesson I’ve learned over the past couple of years is to listen to God for how He calls me to serve…not what someone else thinks I should do or not to fill a position because no one else will. That can turn into a miserable situation, fast. Praise God for the workers who are reliable, consistent and loving even if they are weary, ragged and overwhelmed. God promises not to leave us nor forsake us and I am so thankful for that! Let’s keep praying and focus on what matters most….salvation of the lost. Thanks for not shying away from this topic. It is one subject we need to commit to prayer, for sure! Love you!!

    • mdsharp1 says:

      Amen. I agree completely. Thanks for reading and sharing, Jen. I definetely know it is an issue across the board. I appreciate your friendship and service so much. Love you too!

Leave a Reply

