When the Ducks Won’t Get In a Row

I am so blessed to be writing again. I am, and have been, in a transition in my life. We welcomed our son, Kanaan Jason, into the world on June 16th of this year. We are adjusting to parenthood nicely, but I find myself struggling to keep up with my fast paced world. Some days, it seems all I can accomplish is feeding my son. I mean this quite literally as I am nursing, and he has a healthy appetite. In the midst of it all, I am loving life. I am continuing to be taught by the Lord.

As with most lessons, Jesus uses my daily experiences to grow me as a believer. I have found myself over the past several months feeling rather unaccomplished. I can never seem to get my house clean enough for long enough. I am forever checking things off my office “to do” list. I wonder if I am still attractive and loving to my husband. Though my son is taking most of my time (as he should as an infant), I even wonder if I am a good mother some days. I know I am not alone in these feelings or emotions. They are not out of control either. I am simply realizing that my idea of a perfectly organized and lived life is impossible. It was not that way before children, and it certainly is not going to be that way with children. God keeps gently reminding me that I have a very unique and important ministry right now; to rear the miracle that is Kanaan.

I have been clinging to a couple of verses in Colossians chapter three. “Whatever you do, do it enthusiastically, as something done for the Lord and not for men, knowing that you will receive the reward of an inheritance from the Lord–you serve the Lord Christ.” (verses 23 and 24) I do not know about you, but those are certainly comforting words to me. I love the context that these verses are found in. Chapter three is all about how we should live our lives as Christians. The second half of the chapter specifically speaks to our home lives. It deals with the relationship between a husband and wife (verses 18-19), parents and children (20-21), and masters and slaves (22). Nestled in the routine of our daily lives with our family and jobs are the verses above. No matter what you are doing, do it all for the glory of God. What a blessing.

God is telling us that we are not expected to be super heros. Praise His name! He knows that we have lives, and He is asking us to serve Him through that life. Southwestern Seminary has a great Biblical motto: “As you go, preach!” As we go, we should be sharing Christ and our lives with others. It is a constant, on going process. Christ is and is meant to be wrapped up in everything we say and do.

You do not have to be a mother to be busy or feel overwhelmed. God is telling all of us that He wants us to serve Him through it all. So no matter what you are dealing with, let Christ shine through you. Serve Him and others as you go about your job, rearing your children, or attending school. Remind yourself that you are living for the Lord.

I do not know if this hits home for you, but God is growing me. Even when my ducks refuse to get in a row, I will serve Him. I want to close with a song by Steven Curtis Chapman that has also been encouraging me lately. I hope you are blessed!

“Do Everything”

You’re picking up toys on the living room floor
for the 15th time today
Matching up socks and sweeping up lost
Cheerios that got away
You put a baby on your hip and color on your lips
and head out the door
And while I may not know you I bet I know you
Wonder sometimes does it matter at all
We’ll let me remind you it all matters just as long as you

Do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you
Cause He made you to do
Every little thing that you do to bring a smile to His face
And tell the story of grace
With every move that you make
And every little thing you do

Maybe you’re that guy with the suit and tie
Maybe your shirt says your name
You may be hooking up mergers, cooking up burgers
But at the end of the day

Little stuff big stuff in between stuff
God sees it all the same
And while I may not know you I bet I know you
Wonder sometimes does it matter at all
We’ll let me remind you it all matters just as long as you do

Everything you do to the glory of the One who made you
Cause He made you
To do every little thing that you do to bring a smile to His face
And tell the story of grace with every move that you make
And every little thing that you do

Well maybe you’re sitting in math class
Maybe anekatips on a mission in the Congo
Maybe you’re working at the office
Singing along with the radio
Maybe you’re dining at a five star
Or feeding orphans in Myanmar
Anywhere and everywhere you are
Whatever you do it all matters
So do what you do and don’t ever forget
to do

Everything you do to the glory of the One who made you
Cause He made you to do
Every little thing that you do to bring a smile to His face
And tell the story of grace as you do
Everything you do to the glory of the One who made you
Cause He made you to do
Every little thing that you do to bring a smile to His face
And tell the story of grace with every move that you make
And every little thing that you do

This entry was posted in Motherhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When the Ducks Won’t Get In a Row

  1. Kim Major says:

    Great work, Miranda! When you get famous for writing books, just remember us at lil Oak Forest!! LOL I especially like the “When the ducks won’t get in a row” Very Good! Blessings and ((Hugs)), Kim Major

    • mdsharp1 says:

      lol Thanks for reading, Kim. You’re words are an encouragement to me. Oak Forest will always have a special place in our hearts. What a strong support you all have been to us. We thank God for you. Praying for you and John’s ministry there. Blessings!

  2. Jennifer Dempsey says:

    “Whatever you do, do it enthusiastically, as something done for the Lord and not for men, knowing that you will receive the reward of an inheritance from the Lord–you serve the Lord Christ.” (verses 23 and 24) … love that verse. Sure keeps me focused! Glad you are back to blogging! You are a wonderful mommy and Kanaan is as blessed to have you as you are to have him. Love you!

  3. Kimberly Harris says:

    You found time to write ? sounds like wonder woman to me. When my children was small I use to think it would last forever, if they would just get out of diapers, then the next step and the next step and before you know it, they are grown. Kanaan is a very lucky little boy, you are going to be a great mother. Seems I can’t say it enough, enjoy every moment. Enjoying your post as always. God Bless you, Kim

  4. thiscrazymom says:

    So true, good and encouraging!

Leave a Reply

