In Need of Resurrection

We have just come out of a time of celebrating Christ’s resurrection, but the idea of being brought back to life is something I have been thinking about for quite some time now.  I look at myself, and I look around.  What I see breaks my heart.  My soul is crying out for resurrection; for revival.  The body of Christ is in great need of awakening.  There appears to be too few laborers for the harvest.  The sense of urgency has gone.  We are in a rut; trudging through life almost like robots.  I am aware, as are you, that this is not a new problem.  God’s people so easily and often forget the task at hand and instead seek their own pleasure.  It’s humanities’ story.  We do this while natural disasters and wars rage, but, again, God is not surprised.  It is our legacy.  Yet, the body of Christ should look different than the rest of the world.  If we do not share the hope within us, then there is no hope for the world.  We must come alive in our own spirits and make the Gospel known to everyone.

As I have been struggling with this, what I call, spiritual warfare, I could not help but be reminded of Psalm 51:10-13.  This is a beautiful and familiar passage.  David writes, “God, create a clean heart for me and renew a steadfast spirit within me.  Do not banish me from Your presence or take Your Holy Spirit from me.  Restore the joy of Your salvation to me, and give me a willing spirit.  Then I will teach the rebellious Your ways, and sinners will return to You.”  David is in need of resurrection.  He is longing for his relationship with God to be restored.  He has sinned with Bathsheba and knows his need for repentance.  He is exactly where he needs to be for God to work; he is broken.  This is where we need to begin as well.  We need to be broken over our own sin.  Sometimes I think the reason we fail to share the saving message of Christ is because we have forgotten what we have been saved from.  I read a wonderful quote recently by Charles Spurgeon.  He said, “Think lightly of hell and you will think lightly of the cross.”  This attitude leads to a lack of evangelism.

We need to pray Psalm 51:10-13 in earnest.  We need God to cleanse us of our complacent approach to His plan.  Notice that He is the one who does the “fixing.”  We can not save ourselves nor can we do enough good to be forgiven of sin after we trust Christ as Savior.  God is always the only authority over our soul.  We must seek Him, then, with a contrite heart.  David after doing so asks for God to renew a steadfast spirit within him.  He is asking for God to rebuild, restore, and make new the spirit within him.  Spirit denotes life; the literal breath inside us.  He knows only God can restore the sense of what is right inside him.  Only God can set his life back on course.  David then asks God something which is also vitally important.  He prays that God would not remove Himself from him.  He doesn’t want to be disconnected from God; to not be in His presence.  Have we forgotten how blessed it is to be in fellowship with the creator?  Would we even know if God removed Himself from our lives, our families, our churches?  Without God’s presence, without Him, there is no life.  We become dead in our trespasses and sins (Ephesians 2:1).  I am not saying you can lose your salvation.  Scripture teaches that if we truly trust Christ as Lord and Savior that no one can ever pluck us from His hand (John 10:28), and Ephesians is referring to when we were initially lost without Christ.  However, do not miss the point that being disconnected from God equals a lifeless state for us.  John 15:1-8 tells us that Jesus is the vine.  If we remain in Him, we produce fruit.  The mark of a true believer is that they are active in God’s Kingdom.  It’s a serious matter.

David prays for God to restore the joy of His salvation.  He needs to be reminded that he must turn back to the gladness he found in God’s deliverance of his soul.  Sin steals our joy.  David wants a willing spirit; one that is obedient to God.  Verse thirteen is priceless.  David knows that if God washes away his sin, gives him new life, is in his presence, reminds him of the happiness he has through salvation, and gives him the strength to be obedient; he will be used by the Lord.  David will teach those who are rebellious, those who are sinners, God’s way, and they will also return to God.  They will also repent and be made right with Him.  David realizes that the sin in his life just doesn’t affect him, but the consequences of the choices he makes, good or bad, ripples out into the lives of others.  Some put it this way:  You are a witness for Christ no matter what.  You are a witness for Him, or you are a witness against Him.  The result of forgiveness in David’s life is that he tells others about God’s way.  What is the product of repentance and salvation in our lives?  Are we telling others the good news that Jesus is the only one who can save them and that He wants to?

You can not give something away if you do not have it, but Scripture is also clear that those who are His do not hide their light, but they let it shine for all to see (Matthew 5:15-16).  Are you letting Christ work through you?  Are you sharing the Gospel every day, in every way, with everyone you can?  Have you forgotten your first love (Revelation 2:4)?  Let me encourage you to be resurrected; to have Christ renew your heart and your joy for Him again.  When Jesus is alive and active in your life, you will be alive and active for Him.  You will produce fruit, and that fruit will result in others repenting and following Christ as well.  The lost will be saved, and the saved will be inspired to live for Him.

I am going to close with the lyrics to a song that has been ministering to me over the last several weeks.  May you be blessed as you live for Him!

“Resurrection”—Nicol Sponberg

I’m at a loss for words, there’s nothing to say

I sit in silence wondering what led me to this place

How did my heart become so lifeless and cold

Where did the passion go?

When all my efforts seem like chasing the wind

I’ve used up all my strength and there’s nothing left to give

I’ve lost the feeling and I’m numb to the core

I can’t fake it anymore

Here I am at the end I’m in need of resurrection

Only You can take this empty shell and raise it from the dead

What I’ve lost to the world what seems far beyond redemption

You can take the pieces in Your hand and make me whole again, again

You speak and all creation falls to its knees

You raise Your hand and calm the waves of the raging sea

You have a way of turning winter to spring

Make something beautiful out of all this suffering

Here I am once again  I’m in need of resurrection

Only You can take this empty shell and raise it from the dead

What I’ve lost to the world what seems far beyond redemption

You can take the pieces in Your hand and make me whole again, again

You have a way of turning winter to spring

Make something beautiful out of all this suffering

Here I am at the end I’m in need of resurrection

Only You can take this empty shell and raise it from the dead

I’m in need of resurrection

Only You, only you can raise me from the dead

You can take the pieces in Your hand and make me whole again, again

This entry was posted in Christian Living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Need of Resurrection

  1. Kimberly J. Harris says:

    Excellent Miranda as always, Thanks for the post. Love ya, Kim

Leave a Reply

