I Am Overwhelmed

Do you ever feel overwhelmed?  Life itself is quite demanding.  There are financial strains, family pressures, and simply the fast pace that keeps it all moving at a hundred miles an hour.  Ministry is no different from any other part of life.  If it is your life, it can also be overwhelming at times.  I find that the most helpless feeling I have is the desire to reach out and “fix” the problems or struggles of others when I know I can not.  There is so much happening right now all around me.  There are so many who are sick, hurting, who have lost loved ones, who are fighting battles all their own.  I count it a great honor to be in a place that people can come to me with their burdens.  Yet, my human side wants to rescue these people I love so much.  I find myself broken for them.  I pray for them daily, and I trust the Lord to do His will.  Though, I know that often His will is not ours.  It is not mine.  Only He knows best.  Only He is in control.  It is not that I don’t believe that with all my heart.  It is simply seeing those you care about go through things that you wish they didn’t have to.  Yet, God knows the reasons for it all even when I do not.  Thus, I find myself overwhelmed right now with emotion.

When I feel this weight, I have to run to the Scriptures.  I think of the grace and love that flows from the Father.  I quote the Word to myself.  I remember that the Holy Spirit is the comforter.  I remind myself that I am not God.  Psalm 55:22 says, “Cast your burden on the Lord, and He will sustain you; He will never allow the righteous to be shaken.”  We are told to throw off the load we are carrying onto the Lord.  This is a task.  It requires us to let go of the thing(s) that have become too much in our lives.  We are the ones who have to do the casting off.  I find it so interesting that it says “and He will sustain you.”  After we have flung our cares upon Him, He will sustain us.  You would think that if we gave it all to the Lord, there would not be much need for anything else.  Yet, He promises to provide for us; to maintain, guide, and hold us.  We are fragile enough on our own without burdens.  When we try to carry them ourselves, we are merely adding fuel to the fire.  We are living defeated lives.  He finishes this verse by saying He will never allow the just to fall, be moved, or waver.  Without the Lord’s help, even believer’s, are prone to stumble.  We have to place it all on Him; our burdens and our lives.

1 Peter 5:6-7 says, “Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God, so that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your care on Him, because He cares about you.”  Nothing humbles us faster than when we are without, our world is turned upside down, and our lives are shaken.  When we realize we are not in control and that God is, there is great humility in that.  He is the one with a mighty hand.  He will lift us up in His appointed time.  This is not a promise that life will be easy if we do what is right, but reassurance that God knows all, guides all, and has the power to help us on earth and bring us home to Heaven if we trust in Him.  Again, we are told to cast our cares on Him, but I love the “why” of this verse; because He cares for us.  He cares about you and me.  Luke 12:7 says, “Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered.  Fear not; you are of more value than many sparrows.”  Matthew 6:25-34 is one account where Scripture tells us not to be anxious because the God who takes care of the lilies and sparrows will take care of us.  We are more important than those sparrows, so we know He will take care of us as well.

You may be overwhelmed right now too.  Maybe there are burdens in your life that you are carrying; your own and/or others’.  Let me leave you with a final Scripture of encouragement.  Philippians 4:4-7 says, “Rejoice in the Lord always.  I will say it again: Rejoice!  Let your graciousness be known to everyone.  The Lord is near.  Don’t worry about anything, but in everything, through prayer and petition with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses every thought, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.”  What great comfort these verses are for those going through struggles that are too big to bear alone.  We are reminded to be cheerful in the Lord through everything.  That is not always easy, so He reminds us again.  We are to be gentle and patient to the point that everyone knows us by it.  Do not forget that God is with us and is coming again for us.  Therefore, we are not to worry or have anxiety about the present circumstances.  Instead, we tell them to God through prayer with a heart that overflows with thankfulness for what He has, is doing, and is going to do.  Once we have shared our hearts with the God who can do all things, we are granted a peace through the Holy Spirit that guards our hearts and minds against evil and temptation.  We have been refocused through our relationship with Christ to no longer dwell on the things that are bothering us, but to trust in the one who is in control of us.  It is a peace beyond anything we can comprehend to know that God has us and our cares in His hands.

No matter what you or those around you are dealing with and going through, you are not alone.  Christ is there.  He loves you, and He wants to carry your burdens.  He wants to know your concerns.  He wants to give you peace.  May you be blessed this week as we learn to trust God more.

This entry was posted in Christian Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Am Overwhelmed

  1. Susan says:

    It is so easy sometimes to become discouraged! Especially in the ministry. But we serve an amazing God! Many times when I am discouraged I start praising HIM and worship HIM! He always encourages me through it all! You must keep looking to HIM! He loves us and created us for HIS glory! Continue serving HIM and He will meet ALL your needs according to HIS riches in glory by Christ Jesus!!!
    Miranda you are doing a wonderful ministry… Love you girlfriend!

  2. Amanda Hildabrand-Duncan says:

    I have read all the post you have wrote and this one has inspired me the most sis! God has gave you so many talents to be able to reach to those who need to know or find GODS word and grace! I thank you for all you do for him and for me!

  3. Stephania says:

    Great post and so very true. Trusting God is often times so much easier to talk about than to actually follow through with. Thanks for the encouragement! : )

Leave a Reply

